Winners of the Student Paper Competition Announced

Winners of the Student Paper Competition

Co-Sponsored by NCPE and National Trust for Historic Preservation

The National Council for Preservation Education and the National Trust for Historic Preservation are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Student Paper Competition. They are Sabrinna Cox, completing her M.F.A. in Historic Preservation at Savannah College of Art and Design, Elizabeth Pople, completing her M.S. in Architecture at the University of Texas at San Antonio, Urmila Srinivasan, who completed her MArch. in Historic Preservation from the University of Texas at Austin and Sarah White, completing her Master of Design in Historic Preservation at Boston Architectural College.

Elizabeth Pople IMG_0745Elizabeth Pople has an M.A. in Anthropology, and is currently completing her thesis towards an M.S. in Architecture at the University of Texas at San Antonio. She teaches Anthropology classes at Northwest Vista Community College, and has participated in a variety of local projects that focus on the interaction of people with cultural spaces. She is currently an intern with the San Antonio Conservation Society library, where her primary work consists of researching the history of local sites & homes, as well as digitizing the photograph collection.


Urmila Srinivasan has recently graduated with a Master of Architecture in Historic Preservation from University of Texas at Austin. Her Masters Design Study focused on renovating Mid-century Modern High-rises in Houston. She was a student scholar at the APT Conference in 2013 . Urmila received her Bachelor Architecture from CEPT, India and her Master of Science in Architecture from Texas A&M University.

Sabrinna_CoxSabrinna L. Cox is a M.F.A candidate in Historic Preservation at Savannah College of Art and Design. In 2000, she graduated with a degree in Theatre Production from Southern Illinois University. Currently, Sabrinna is working as an intern for Celebrate Bluffton assisting with the development of an application to promote Bluffton, South Carolina and the surrounding area.


Sarah White photo (1)Sarah White is completing her Masters project in Historic Preservation at Boston Architectural College. She received her B.A. from Smith College and pursued her graduate studies at Michigan. Sarah has led preservation non-profits and chaired several cultural and historic preservation-focused civic committees. She lives in Newburyport, MA.



The winners will present their papers at PastForward, the National Preservation Conference in Savannah, Georgia, November 2014. Their session, “Student Thinking, Student Perspectives” will be on Thursday, November 13 from 3:00-4:15pm. Each student receives free registration to the 2014 National Trust conference along with travel and hotel stipend of $700.00. The scholarship is jointly funded by NCPE and the National Trust.

To be eligible to apply to the competition, the student had to be a current full time undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in a preservation program recognized by the National Council for Preservation Education; this included students planning to graduate in Spring 2014. Papers could be developed specifically for this competition or may have been written for any preservation related course during the 2013 – 2014 academic year. The papers had to be the work of a single individual; team or group papers were not permitted. The papers had to address the topic of New Thinking/New Perspectives in Historic Preservation. This included, but was not necessarily limited to new policies, procedures, audiences, or application of new technology to the preservation of historic buildings, districts, areas, landscapes, structures or objects. The papers will be considered for publication in NCPE’s Preservation Education Research Journal.

Many thanks to Richard Wagner, Goucher College who administered the competition and to reviewers: Paul Kapp, University of Illinois, Robert Melnick, University of Oregon, Rebecca Sheppard, University of Delaware, Noel Vernon, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.

We hope you can join us at the PastForward to hear these award-winning papers.